TravelTalkOnline

First time trip report

Posted By: bobbarb

First time trip report - 11/07/2021 12:57 AM

This is my first attempt of a trip report. We flew from Newark October 31the fight was full and was 1 hour late as they were waiting for catering service.
We are staying at simpsonbay villas for 2 weeks. We missed last year due to the covid restrictions and noticed that they did a nice job in replacing the furniture inside as well as the patio furniture. Several mornings my wife would get up at 6 am and sleep for an hour on the patio lounge.
I snorkel each morning a little after 7am for an hour and half around the rocks and beyond the resort. I do another snorkel around 11:30am for an hour around Royal Palm around the rocks and 3/4 toward the bridge. We then spend most of the afternoon sitting around the pool and going in the bay.
On one of the cloudy days I walked up the hill to where there used to be a water tower to get a view from the top. That land is being developed with high end villas on 7 acres one unit looks to be close to finished. They are putting in a road as it was just gravel before the real estate broker was there overlooking the project and gave me a brouchour showing all the amenities. Unfortunately they already have a gate that said private property now trespassing but fortunately it was not in operation at that time. I will miss those views in the future.
Meals we have the breakfast buffet at la Patrona as it is included in package.
First night(Sunday) was at Lee's I had Wahoo my better half had coconut shrimp. Both were good.
Second night was at Buccaneer beach bar which had $10 all you can eat bbq ribs and chicken from 5-7. For the really low price it was at best ok but I will not do it again.
Third night we went to the yaht club. We got there before 6 and I had 3 appetizers for$30. Grouper fingers, coconut shrimp and bbq chicken tenders, very good and filling. My wife had the pork tenderloin and enjoyed it as well.