TravelTalkOnline

Cell Phone

Posted By: Woodman

Cell Phone - 02/18/2019 04:23 PM

Ok, it's been a while since I have chartered, and I have a total newbie crew. I have checked with my service provider, and they do not provide coverage in the BVI.

What providers do?

Can I just buy some minutes, and put a different SIM in my Iphone 6? Or should I buy a cheap phone, and get a SIM there?

I am sure someone has figured this out, so please share your solution.

Thanks!
Posted By: RickG

Re: Cell Phone - 02/18/2019 04:32 PM

If your phone is unlocked you can get a Digicel or Lime sim. If you want to save time and a visit to one of the stores, you can order a LIME sim from https://www.mrsimcard.com/caribbean/s-limebvi.html.

It's worth calling ahead as some of the stores do run out of sim cards. We've seen that happen at the Virgin Gorda Digicel store.

Cheers, RickG
Posted By: Woodman

Re: Cell Phone - 02/18/2019 04:34 PM

Thanks for the response.

It is unlocked. I may want to get it in advance, and see if I can have calls forwarded to the Digicel or Lime SIM #.

Will that work?
Posted By: mainesailor

Re: Cell Phone - 02/18/2019 04:47 PM

Verizon has a number of programs.....more info here https://www.verizonwireless.com/solutions-and-services/international-travel/

I will probably a monthly plan @ $70.
Posted By: JasonHelmbrecht

Re: Cell Phone - 02/18/2019 09:04 PM

AT&T has great coverage and reasonable plans.
Posted By: bailau

Re: Cell Phone - 02/18/2019 11:05 PM

i am using wifi calling with Sprint on an android...
Posted By: jphart

Re: Cell Phone - 02/19/2019 12:24 AM

We have found that T-Mobile is best deal if using existing domestic service.
Posted By: NoelHall

Re: Cell Phone - 02/19/2019 02:15 AM