TravelTalkOnline

Simpson Bay Empty of Boats this Evening

Posted By: CanuckTravlr

Simpson Bay Empty of Boats this Evening - 02/05/2024 11:06 PM

I have been coming to the island for about 10 years. I was shocked late this afternoon.

Earlier today, as is typically the case, there were lots of boats in Simpson Bay of all sizes, from small sailboats to large yachts. Around 6 pm I went out on the balcony to check out the sunset. All the boats were gone!! The bay was empty other than, count them, 4 (that's not a typo) smaller sailboats. I have never experienced that before. I did take some pics, but will have to figure out how to transfer them to here.

I looked for a weather or marine warning. It is very windy today and swells are reported as 5 to 7 feet, but haven't found any references beyond that. Very strange and a bit eerie.
Posted By: Kennys

Re: Simpson Bay Empty of Boats this Evening - 02/05/2024 11:12 PM

There is a sea warning in effect as we speak and the sea by us in Beach Hill and Maho Beach is very rough now .
Posted By: foreversxm

Re: Simpson Bay Empty of Boats this Evening - 02/05/2024 11:31 PM

I heard about the approaching rain and winds but can't image they would leave for just that. Normally they go into the lagoon. Odd.

Re: Simpson Bay Empty of Boats this Evening - 02/05/2024 11:39 PM

They may well have gone into the lagoon for extra shelter. As Lesley reported on Maho and Beach Hill, there are also strong winds and heavy surf here on the eastern end of Simpson Bay Beach, about half-way between the lagoon entrance and Mary's Boon.

I was out this afternoon, so I have no idea as to where the boats may have gone. When I left, the normal menagerie of boats were there, when I got back just before sunset, they were gone.
Posted By: bostonbob

Re: Simpson Bay Empty of Boats this Evening - 02/05/2024 11:57 PM