Traveltalkonline.com Forums


BVI Cruise Schedule TTOL Sponsors BVI Travel Calendar
Forum Statistics
Forums39
Topics38,844
Posts314,479
Members26,590
Most Online2,218
Jan 21st, 2020
Top Posters(30 Days)
Kennys 27
Zanshin 24
jazzgal 22
Member Spotlight
RonDon
RonDon
Rhode Island
Posts: 4,426
Joined: February 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Who's Online Now
27 registered members (xrayman67, panman, KirkB, GeorgeC1, SXMScubaman, jbutah, Coconut Joe, Todd, SXMbeacher, Kennys, lbksxm, bailau, trueblue, CaribbeanCanadians, steve74, lhbsurf, Fletch, jrw, MKGrey, 8 invisible), 727 guests, and 220 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Starlink on Virgin Gorda #298348
03/27/2023 10:14 AM
03/27/2023 10:14 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
First Starlink on Virgin Gorda . Installed today. 61 MBPS download first day . Amazing Technology. breakingnews


tpcook
BVI Sponsors
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298358
03/27/2023 12:00 PM
03/27/2023 12:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,559
Grenada
Zanshin Offline
Traveler
Zanshin  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,559
Grenada
Did you get the RV-Version or the fixed version? I agree that it is a game-changer. No only for cruisers like me (I'm anchored in St. Martin now and using my Starlink RV) but for those in areas with no/expensive internet infrastructure.


[Linked Image]
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298364
03/27/2023 01:20 PM
03/27/2023 01:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
GA/NC
GeorgeC1 Online content
Traveler
GeorgeC1  Online Content
Traveler
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
GA/NC
I am hearing rumors they are going to geo fence the RV unit to force boats to buy the vastly more expensive maritime units. Anyone heard any updates on that?

Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: Zanshin] #298367
03/27/2023 01:44 PM
03/27/2023 01:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
This is the RV version which is identical to the residential version. Had it shipped to Vero Beach florida and then it was flow on our plane to the BVI. Going to mount it in one of our gardens on a PVC post filled with concrete and then put into the ground with more concrete. That way it can be removed in the event of a hurricane. It will also have a clear view of the sky

Last edited by tpcook; 03/27/2023 01:46 PM.

tpcook
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298372
03/27/2023 02:35 PM
03/27/2023 02:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 1,175
M
MIDiver Offline
Traveler
MIDiver  Offline
Traveler
M
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 1,175
RV is now “Roam”. Lots of rumors about upcoming changes. Suggest joining Starlink for boats FB page. Have friends inside - trying to get some info.

Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298402
03/27/2023 09:21 PM
03/27/2023 09:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
18°44'42"N 64°24'09"W
D
duckfat Offline
Traveler
duckfat  Offline
Traveler
D
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
18°44'42"N 64°24'09"W
We have (AFAIK) 4 Starlinks running on Anegada. It's a game-changer for the BVI.

I am upgrading my infrastructure to handle the speed of the Starlink unit. It routinely runs at over 150 Mbps. My house network is the weak link.

Last edited by duckfat; 03/27/2023 09:23 PM.
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: duckfat] #298435
03/28/2023 12:03 PM
03/28/2023 12:03 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,217
JAX
jphart Offline
Traveler
jphart  Offline
Traveler
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,217
JAX
Originally Posted by duckfat
We have (AFAIK) 4 Starlinks running on Anegada. It's a game-changer for the BVI.

I am upgrading my infrastructure to handle the speed of the Starlink unit. It routinely runs at over 150 Mbps. My house network is the weak link.


Check out mesh units. I switched to Google WiFi Mesh router and remote points and it tremendously increased speed and range of home network.

Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: jphart] #298476
03/29/2023 08:47 AM
03/29/2023 08:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
18°44'42"N 64°24'09"W
D
duckfat Offline
Traveler
duckfat  Offline
Traveler
D
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 177
18°44'42"N 64°24'09"W
Originally Posted by jphart
Originally Posted by duckfat
We have (AFAIK) 4 Starlinks running on Anegada. It's a game-changer for the BVI.

I am upgrading my infrastructure to handle the speed of the Starlink unit. It routinely runs at over 150 Mbps. My house network is the weak link.


Check out mesh units. I switched to Google WiFi Mesh router and remote points and it tremendously increased speed and range of home network.

I have Tp-Link mesh. My network is complex, and the mesh network is connected through a switch that I am upgrading to gigabit.

Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298527
03/29/2023 04:45 PM
03/29/2023 04:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 848
Redmond, WA
MrEZgoin Offline
Traveler
MrEZgoin  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 848
Redmond, WA
FWIW the version of Starlink router that I have did not include an ethernet port, I had to order a separate pigtail extender cable from Starlink which breaks out an ethernet socket.

Also, if putting together a Google mesh, be aware that while the nodes CAN be connected via a hard-wired connection, they have to first be joined into the mesh in wireless proximity. After that, they can be moved to their desired location and hard-wired.


M4000 "Lio Kai"
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: MrEZgoin] #298570
03/30/2023 08:02 AM
03/30/2023 08:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
Ordered the ethernet adaptor.along with 150 ft of connection cable. ordered 2 quick disconnect adaptors, one that connects to the antenna and the other which connects to a 1.5 inch aluminum tube that I had made that connects to sch 40 pvc piping which is cemented into the ground.


tpcook
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298590
03/30/2023 11:21 AM
03/30/2023 11:21 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,956
St. John, USVI
RickG Offline
Traveler
RickG  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,956
St. John, USVI
We have Starling RV/Roam running in Coral Bay, St. John on our boat. We see 60-80mbps down and 4-8mbps up in a vanilla setup sitting on deck; I have the parts to mount on a mast, but it has not been required. We're heading down the chain to Grenada starting mid-May. Friends ahead of us are having good coverage with the Roam subscription; things could change with the terms and conditions changes. Worst case, we will move to the Global subscription.

We have backups. Viya works better than AT&T at our mooring in Coral Bay. When we get to St. Martin we will get a Digicel 100GB per month mobile plan as backup. Previous years, patching together weekly plans to cover our Internet needs was a pain.

Cheers, RickG


S/V Echoes, 2003 Beneteau 423
Grenada
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298614
03/30/2023 03:29 PM
03/30/2023 03:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
GA/NC
GeorgeC1 Online content
Traveler
GeorgeC1  Online Content
Traveler
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
GA/NC
Hopefully they will come up with a marine plan geared to small boats. The current marine plan appears for multi million dollar yachts. It really will change the game!

Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298646
03/31/2023 07:05 AM
03/31/2023 07:05 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,559
Grenada
Zanshin Offline
Traveler
Zanshin  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,559
Grenada
I'm in St. Martin now, and even the superyachts and the megayachts that I see around me here in the anchorage and at the docks have the normal RV version installed. (Posted from my PC at anchor using my Starlink RV)

Last edited by Zanshin; 03/31/2023 07:06 AM.

[Linked Image]
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298647
03/31/2023 07:24 AM
03/31/2023 07:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
Since my unit will have a permanent installation at my villa. I will eventually go to the residential version as soon as the BVI opens up.
I might note that I tried to get the BVI fiber optics cable companies to provide me with internet service but both compares declined . Flow would give me service but only for the business rate which was a lot more. $ To me to turn down a customers is stupid, but then this is the BVI

In Vero Beach, Florida I pay $30/mo for 80 MBPS service.

Last edited by tpcook; 03/31/2023 07:30 AM.

tpcook
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: Zanshin] #298648
03/31/2023 07:25 AM
03/31/2023 07:25 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
GA/NC
GeorgeC1 Online content
Traveler
GeorgeC1  Online Content
Traveler
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,109
GA/NC
Originally Posted by Zanshin
I'm in St. Martin now, and even the superyachts and the megayachts that I see around me here in the anchorage and at the docks have the normal RV version installed. (Posted from my PC at anchor using my Starlink RV)


I guess that’s how they got rich! 1000 a month and 2500 in startup costs or 120 a month and 599! Pretty easy choice.

Last edited by GeorgeC1; 03/31/2023 07:35 AM.
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #298663
03/31/2023 10:07 AM
03/31/2023 10:07 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 838
Houston, Texas
louismcc Offline
Traveler
louismcc  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 838
Houston, Texas
Originally Posted by tpcook
Ordered the ethernet adaptor.along with 150 ft of connection cable. ordered 2 quick disconnect adaptors, one that connects to the antenna and the other which connects to a 1.5 inch aluminum tube that I had made that connects to sch 40 pvc piping which is cemented into the ground.


Unlike Houston, BVI doesn't have a major lightning issue. Still if that long Ethernet cable run is outdoors I'd put data line surge protectors on it.


Louis from Houston
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #300690
05/03/2023 06:31 AM
05/03/2023 06:31 AM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 848
Redmond, WA
MrEZgoin Offline
Traveler
MrEZgoin  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 848
Redmond, WA
Just got an updated service agreement from Starlink, looks like they are going to separate marine from RV use, and it will likely be priced higher, like the "high demand" business plan and start at $250 per month (50GB) and top out at $5000 (5TB)

Last edited by MrEZgoin; 05/03/2023 06:32 AM.

M4000 "Lio Kai"
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: louismcc] #300691
05/03/2023 07:15 AM
05/03/2023 07:15 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
The cable is run underground so maybe some protection. Right now I am getting between 80-140 MBPS Good enough for anything I am doing. We get all the TV stations in the USA as the server is in Atlanta. So I do not have to have a VPN anymore. Also telephone service to/from USA.


tpcook
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #300727
05/03/2023 02:28 PM
05/03/2023 02:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,956
St. John, USVI
RickG Offline
Traveler
RickG  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,956
St. John, USVI
The marine plans are for use when under way. Starlink is busy tweaking plans. You can add priority offshore data for $2 per Gb to the Roam plan. We stow our Starlink when we are underway, so no Marine plan for us.

Cheers, RickG


S/V Echoes, 2003 Beneteau 423
Grenada
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: RickG] #300761
05/04/2023 07:56 AM
05/04/2023 07:56 AM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 106
Hillsborough, NC
OceanSong Offline
Traveler
OceanSong  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 106
Hillsborough, NC
We just received our notice from Starlink that we have only 7 days to use our RV plan on the “ocean”. We have found Starlink to be a game changer for us. We also like being connected while underway. So with that we’ve upgraded to the “Mobile Priority” plan. $100 more per month, but we expected it from the beginning and it still seems like a good deal.

Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #300858
05/05/2023 02:56 PM
05/05/2023 02:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
Here is my system at the villa Starlink on a 8 ft PVC pole with connectors to the antenna so it can be removed in the event of a storm. I also have the Ethernet adaptor which gives me 1 ethernet port which is connected to a LAN (Yes LAN) input of my tlplink router. The router has been changed to be an access point and the DHCP has been turned off. There are 3 other LAN ports on my router , one of which I used for a vonage box giving me very low cost telephone service in and out of the bVI. The router has 2 WIFI outputs, one of which is my main output for general use in the villa (2.4 and 5 ) 5 is much faster but does not penetrate walls . I also use the guest output as as a special output for sensitive information.,

The starlink router is left as is with its wifi output as starlink and the DHCP on providing addresses for all devices that connect to the system. Going to put in another device which senses loss of ethernet and turns the power off to the system allowing it to reboot.

I also have several repeaters (2.4) which extend the 2.4 signal throughout the villa and the pool.


tpcook
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: tpcook] #303199
06/24/2023 10:46 PM
06/24/2023 10:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
Have no needed the reboot system so it has never been put in. Starlink is still working great.


tpcook
Re: Starlink on Virgin Gorda [Re: louismcc] #313573
02/14/2024 10:37 AM
02/14/2024 10:37 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
tpcook Offline OP
Traveler
tpcook  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,275
Vero Beach, Fl and South Sound...
Update: We had a major lightning strike at the villa. Hit the electric pole at the entrance to the villa. Blew out the government transformer and also my transfer switch which is part of my back up generator. The Starlink antenna is about 100 ft from the pole. No damage to it or anything in the villa.

Starlink is still working great. Downlink about 100bmits. No losses of signal. We have a blink system, Vonage telephone system and Roku TV on the system. All working fine.


tpcook

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1