Member Spotlight
UncleLuff
UncleLuff
Ottawa, Canada
Show All Member Profiles 
Today's Birthdays
LONGISLANDSHARON, Sca2la
Who's Online Now
32 registered members (TRIM, SXMScubaman, NotquiteCapnRon, NumberCruncher, Todd_Melinda_K, eightzerobits, Fletch, Travel Talker, SXMbeacher, singbeach, GeorgeC1, toast, MrEZgoin, RatmansWife, steve74, xrayman67, cbf, RichiT, Uksimonusa, jeepers, Mark2dBVI, jaxon60, Memphré, magpie, 8 invisible), 907 guests, and 75 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Viking River Cruise Trip Report Part 1 #17823
10/20/2012 02:01 PM
10/20/2012 02:01 PM
swg Offline OP
Traveler
swg  Offline OP
Traveler
Viking River Cruise
Portraits of Southern France Trip Report

Planning:

Our next door neighbor Fran and I had been talking about trying to do this for several years. Everything finally came together for September of 2012 including getting Paul and John interested. It wasn’t very hard in my case since Paul worked for a French company before he retired. We’d both been to Paris several times and wanted to see more of France.

We booked our trip in June of 2011 knowing that we needed to book well in advance because these cruises fill up so fast. Travel insurance is a must. Because of the way my birthday fell, I was actually, number wise, 2 years younger when we bought the insurance than when we actually traveled. That was a considerable savings.

We all had a hard time deciding whether or not we wanted to do the post cruise Marseille extension or not. Initially we decided not to do it. Then we decided we would, but by then it was completely booked.

Our neighbor and very good friend, Lois, taught high school French for 25 years. With her help, Fran and I planned our own post cruise excursion. Then a few days later, we sat down with our husbands for their input (They were watching the World Series during our initial planning session). They pretty much agreed with what we had planned