I've been to Sorobon about 6 times in the past 10 years. I love the place. Bonaire is a quiet, very safe island, with surprisingly good restaurants and decent prices in stores.

I'm a writer, so as I own copyright to my stories, I can paste one here that was published late in 2003 in 2 naturist magazines (one in the US, one in Canada). Hope it explains things for you guys! (BTW, I think air con has been installed since I last visited, and air connections to the island have changed.)

Going “Home” Again to Sorobon

by Bruce Bishop

It was the final night of my last visit to the Sorobon Beach Resort in quiet little Bonaire in the Dutch Caribbean. In the resort’s breezy restaurant, Sugarbird, I looked at the people sitting around my table. We had finished a nice meal and cold beverages of varying types.

These were new friends…guests who had arrived a few days after I did at Sorobon, and who now clearly had several more days of their naturist vacation ahead of them. But I had to go home in the morning. I was getting nostalgic already.

“Just remember,” I said seriously, “each of you must do the towel dance on the beach before you leave.”

The cop and his much younger girlfriend from Manchester, England, furrowed their brows. Another couple, Jean and Christina from Montreal, looked at each other and grinned. A third couple – an airline executive and his personal-trainer wife from London, grabbed their wineglasses and leaned forward.

“Now it’s nothing obscene or weird,” I continued. “It’s a way of saying you’re one of the Sorobon regulars. Like having a membership in a club. Naturally, you have to be nude. Then take your beach towel, hold it high above your head, close your eyes, and let the winds off Lac Bay flutter the towel and wash all over you.”