pat 42
Todd 40
jazzgal 40
Member Spotlight
Show All Member Profiles 
Today's Birthdays
LONGISLANDSHARON, Sca2la
Who's Online Now
30 registered members (MrEZgoin, RatmansWife, eightzerobits, steve74, xrayman67, cbf, Travel Talker, RichiT, Uksimonusa, jeepers, Mark2dBVI, jaxon60, Memphré, magpie, Midsouth, TravelHat, GeorgeC1, sugarae, LINNY, SXMScubaman, Standrea, 9 invisible), 954 guests, and 76 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Cruising Antigua (relative to BVI's) #115913
01/03/2017 07:11 PM
01/03/2017 07:11 PM
Denver & Breckenridge, CO
B
BreckSailor Offline OP
Traveler
BreckSailor  Offline OP
Traveler
B
I've got plenty of experience over decades cruising US and BVI. I've heard great things about Antigua - could anyone with real experience in both provide some compare/contrast for me? I'm interested in making it a key part (roughly 4 - 7 days) of a several week cruise though the Antilles. Thanks!

BVI Sponsors
Re: Cruising Antigua (relative to BVI's) [Re: BreckSailor] #115914
01/04/2017 02:59 AM
01/04/2017 02:59 AM
Grenada
Zanshin Offline
Traveler
Zanshin  Offline
Traveler
Grenada
I spend a lot of time in Antigua and have come to like the island. Cruising there is quite different from the BVI.
There are fewer boats in the anchorages than in the BVI as there is less charter activity and many of the anchorages have no bars/restaurants on the shore. The island is bigger and more populous than the BVI and in recent years they've become friendlier and more service oriented than they used to be (well, apart from the customs and immigration folks).
Anchorages such as Green Island are wonderful. https://www.sv-zanshin.com/blogpages/2016/blog2016-05-05.php

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Re: Cruising Antigua (relative to BVI's) [Re: Zanshin] #115915
01/04/2017 12:46 PM
01/04/2017 12:46 PM
Somewhere out there
kneafseym Offline
Traveler
kneafseym  Offline
Traveler
Somewhere out there