Traveltalkonline.com Forums


SXM Cruise Schedule TTOL Sponsors SXM Travel Calendar
Forum Statistics
Forums39
Topics27,970
Posts200,638
Members25,154
Most Online1,403
Dec 25th, 2017
Top Posters(30 Days)
pat 43
RonDon 37
Kennys 27
BEERMAN 26
Manpot 24
Member Spotlight
fabila
fabila
Yonkers, NY
Posts: 6,816
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Today's Birthdays
MaineMangoMan
Who's Online Now
39 registered members (bdeeley, SandS, bailau, Carib_Ian, Jim_Laraine, GW248, SXMScubaman, GeorgeC1, HibiscusFan, DEL, Limegold1, Aries4, Dakota450, Sunnykm, SXMbeacher, BeachKitten, Dan_Harper, PML, Sakislegirl, TomB, KirkB, BruceU, EllenS, SXMLovers, DDnBob, warren460, dlparch, cbinparadise, louismcc, kccouple, Pitz, 8 invisible), 118 guests, and 416 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
charlotte airport #42530
02/27/2015 06:18 PM
02/27/2015 06:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 275
mikeandsandy Offline OP
Traveler
mikeandsandy  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 275
flying Chicago - charlotte - sxm Tuesday morning. Have 45 minute layover in Charlotte Weather prediction for ORD Tuesday morning is wintery mix. might be tight, especially if we have to de-ice before takeoff. Anyone know if we will have to go thru security in charlotte, or is landing/takeoff in the same concourse.

SXM Sponsors
Re: charlotte airport [Re: mikeandsandy] #42531
02/27/2015 06:31 PM
02/27/2015 06:31 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,178
Rhode Island
RonDon Offline
Traveler
RonDon  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,178
Rhode Island
I believe once your IN the boarding area of the airport you never leave outside the secure area to catch another flight. You don't go back through TSA.

Most airports group airlines together in a wing so if you're not changing airlines you should be staying on the same concourse.

We haven't used Charlotte in a couple of years but the last time we flew USAir from Prov RI and changed planes in Charlotte we only went 3 gate numbers to the next plane. They usually announce the connecting flights by city and give gate numbers while you're landing. If you don't hear yours don't hesitate to ask flight attendant. That way you don't have to search for a monitor to check gate number of the next flight.

Have a great time.

Re: charlotte airport [Re: RonDon] #42532
02/27/2015 06:39 PM
02/27/2015 06:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 480
Ohio
rkitek Offline
Traveler
rkitek  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 480
Ohio
You will not have to go through any check points. We've made that connection before. It only took us 20 minutes from touchdown, till we were on the plan to SXM.



[Linked Image]
Re: charlotte airport [Re: rkitek] #42533
02/27/2015 06:52 PM
02/27/2015 06:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 993
Pittsburgh PA
P
plequerre Offline
Traveler
plequerre  Offline
Traveler
P
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 993
Pittsburgh PA
Quote
rkitek said:
You will not have to go through any check points. We've made that connection before. It only took us 20 minutes from touchdown, till we were on the plan to SXM.


Exactly. We did PIT-CLT-SXM earlier this month and we didn't go through security again in CLT.

Re: charlotte airport [Re: mikeandsandy] #42534
02/27/2015 07:55 PM
02/27/2015 07:55 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 1,597
Sint Maarten
transplantsxm Offline
Traveler
transplantsxm  Offline
Traveler
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 1,597
Sint Maarten
We do a 45 minute turn in CLT multiple times a year and have never missed the connection on the way down, like not once in maybe 80 trips. You should be good, just don't dally and remember to have your passport checked again at the departure gate as soon as you get there, it is required for out of country flights.

Re: charlotte airport [Re: transplantsxm] #42535
02/27/2015 07:58 PM
02/27/2015 07:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 275
mikeandsandy Offline OP
Traveler
mikeandsandy  Offline OP
Traveler
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 275
Thanks - a little less worry now

Re: charlotte airport [Re: mikeandsandy] #42536
03/02/2015 12:15 PM
03/02/2015 12:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 218
London,Ontario CDN
JMSH Offline
Traveler
JMSH  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 218
London,Ontario CDN
Now going the other way can be tricky and time consuming as you need to go through US Customs in CLT...you need to pick up your luggage recheck your luggage and head through security again...leave yourself plenty of time for that.

Re: charlotte airport [Re: mikeandsandy] #42537
03/02/2015 01:35 PM
03/02/2015 01:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 674
Chicago area & St-Martin
ChiTownHarry Offline
Traveler
ChiTownHarry  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 674
Chicago area & St-Martin
Quote
mikeandsandy said:
flying Chicago - charlotte - sxm Tuesday morning.


Did the same connection last month. 45 minutes is plenty of time.

If you have a smart phone, download the US Airways app.
As soon as you land, you can use it to find your arrival gate and departing gate. Airport maps with gate layouts are in the back of the US Air magazine.

Hope this helps.


--ChiTownHarry
Re: charlotte airport [Re: ChiTownHarry] #42538
03/02/2015 02:17 PM
03/02/2015 02:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 10,211
GJ, CO S/V Long Overdue
sail2wind Offline
Traveler
sail2wind  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 10,211
GJ, CO S/V Long Overdue
We find Trip Tracker is as good or better than AA's app. We had a text for a gate change on Trip Tracker, 5 minutes before we got our AA notification.

Re: charlotte airport [Re: sail2wind] #42539
03/02/2015 03:32 PM
03/02/2015 03:32 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,218
SXMWendell Offline
Traveler
SXMWendell  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,218
I just look at the arrival/departure screens at the airport. No lag time.

SXM??? Wendell

Re: charlotte airport [Re: SXMWendell] #42540
03/02/2015 03:53 PM
03/02/2015 03:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 69,398
Central Florida!
Carol_Hill Offline
Traveler
Carol_Hill  Offline
Traveler
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 69,398
Central Florida!
For big planes, it's probably not a problem, but I flew through Charlotte on a puddle jumper from Charlotte to Dayton in October 2014 and my flight was NOT listed on ANY departure screen in the airport that I ever saw. Their screens, I guess, are not big enough to show all the flights through there. I saw tons of people like me, standing there looking at the screens, never finding their flight. An app sounds like it is a good idea for people in my situation.


Carol Hill

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1