Member Spotlight
ChuckG
ChuckG
PA
Show All Member Profiles 
Today's Birthdays
mamakim
Who's Online Now
3 registered members (Manpot, EdB, 1 invisible), 921 guests, and 183 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Advice, for what it's worth #311045
12/31/2023 06:19 PM
12/31/2023 06:19 PM
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Tom Offline OP
Traveler
Tom  Offline OP
Traveler
Hershey, Pennsylvania
We have vacationed in Sint Maarten/Saint Martin every year at least once or twice beginning in the mid 80s when i won a trip with Xerox, where I worked in sales.
We bought timeshares at Belair Hotel on the Dutch side. Beautiful resort on Little Bay next to Divi. We may return there as renters in the future.
This became our annual 2 to 3 week family vacation for more than 30 years. Many promises for significant improvement, too few kept.
Our kids are now grown and we are in our 70s. We were fortunate to sell our timeshares just before Irma and the pandemic.
We tried a villa at Beacon Hill last year but that is a much better option for younger folks that like more activity and excitement.
We all have our subjective views but I will simply list my own summary on the changes I have seen on SXM, "The Friendly Island".
1. Getting there is more difficult and expensive and getting home is even tougher. That is in part due to the airlines involved. If it is more profitable to deliver folks to esewhere in the Caribbean, they will accomodate.
2. The airport is a mess. Carribean corruption has made lots of money for many that results in difficulty to passengers arriving and departing SXM. I am confident this will improve but for now it is crazy.
3. Traffic is out of control. Too many people and cars with too few roads makes for yet another nightmare. This too, will improve when business people lose $. Especially restaurants.